We have a true passion for science! Each and every one of our team members represents the committed spirit of our research activities!

Yury V. Kolen’ko


Yury enjoys synthesis, investigation & application of unconventional nanomaterials.

Laura M. Salonen


Laura employs organic chemistry methods for the development of innovative nanomaterials for water treatment and catalysis.

Juliana Sousa


Juliana has experience in several scientific fields; synthesis and functionalization of inorganic materials, catalysis and coatings.

Orlando Oliveira


Orlando works in the development of covalent organic frameworks with enhanced stability for catalysis.

Natalia Spera


Natalia has a more technical approach and enjoys working with synthesis and applications of sustainable coatings.

Clara Ponte


Clara is a Materials Chemist who is developing covalent organic frameworks for photocatalysis.

Isabel Oliveira


Isabel is a Biologist/Tissue Engineering who is developing functional coatings based on nanomaterials with infrared reflective properties.

Diana Alves


Diana is a Biomedical Engineer who is developing functional coatings based on nanomaterials with hydrophobic properties.

Sandra Amaral


Sandra is an organic chemist working on the development of nanomaterials for sustainable coatings.

Joana Araújo


Joana is a Chemical Engineer working on the development of COFs for the adsorption of pharmaceuticals pollutants from water.

Cátia Freitas


Cátia is a Material Scientist working on the development and characterisation of nanomaterials for catalysis.

Tiago Fernandes


Tiago is working with catalysts for energy-efficient anion-exchange membrane (AEM) for water electrolysis.

Mafalda Pina


Mafalda is working with catalysts for Proton exchange Membranes (PEM) for water electrolysis.

Soraia Fernandes


Soraia is working with metal organic framework (MOFs) for capturing a greenhouse gas.

Ramsundar Mohan


Ramsundar is working with the magnetic nanomaterials for spin polarized oxygen evolution reaction (OER).

María Poupard


Mafer is a Material Scientist who works on the synthesis of functional nanoporous materials.

Roma Raj


Roma is a passionate material scientist with expertise in printed photovoltaic, particle synthesis, and self-healing coatings to renewable energy technology.

Siavash Alizadeh


Siavash is a materials scientist, interested in solid-state electrochemistry. He is working on Solid Oxide Fuel Cells. He believes in science to make a green world.

João Restivo


João’s work focuses in the development of nanostructured materials for environmental applications.

Isilda Amorim


Isilda's major interest is the development of electrocatalysts for their application on electrochemical water splitting.

João Braga


João is a biomedical engineer who is working in the valorisation of lithium mining by-products.

Our Alumni:

Marcos Martínez

Diógenes Piva

Viviana Sousa

Liliana Gonçalves

Adria Perez

Riccardo Zema

Jenni Jarju

Pablo Blanco

Nadia Licciardello

Roberto D'Amato

Krystal Cid

Aida Díez

Juanjo Ocampo

Bruna Gonçalves

Süleyman Kudret

Ana Catarina Lima

Magali Rego

Ivan Nuñez Perez

Zexuan Wang

Javier García

Silvia Escudero

Micaela Lavender

Natália Vilaça

Nagendra Chauhan

Rajesh Reddy

Olumide Ayodele

Vanesa Romero

Niklas Bennedsen

Yasmine Ziouani

Dallas Mann

Sara Barros

Udayabhaskararao Thumu

Tiago Marinho

Francesca Scalerandi

Elena Igonina

Anneloes Berghuis

Marek Piotrowski

Diogo Abreu

Vanessa Cardoso

Miguel Franco

Renato Gonçalves

Noelia González

Bryan Owens-Baird

Luiz Felipe Souza

Alice Boarino

Carlo Resini